How To Make Flower Cupcake Soap

Today’s challenge is to make flower cupcake soap. Flower cupcake soap is soap put into cupcake molds and then the flower is piped on top. I have tried piping in the past with poor results (see above). My lack of experience coupled with me not waiting for the soap to thicken enough to hold its piping shape contributed to a sad-looking cupcake. If you are good at piping then you will excel at this, even if you are new to soaping.

Piping will come in handy for future soap designs so I had to try to improve. It’s time to lift the veil of shame I’ve cast over the cupcake world! I have never piped petals before but I watched a tutorial online a few times and have learned from my mistakes. I have a little bit of floral fragrance left over and thought it’d be a great way to use it up for a test batch. Here we go!

Challenge:

Flower Cupcake

Additional soaping supplies:

Flat cooking sheet, silicone cupcake molds,  quart size zipper freezer bag, Wilton 125 petal tip, chromium green oxide, soap embeds or piece of colored soap (optional), and glitter.

Tips:

  • Use a proven recipe and fragrance before attempting.
  • You can use any floral fragrance and color the top flower to complement it. For this challenge I kept the flower white to match the gardenia fragrance.
  • It may be easier and give you more control if you make the cupcake base a day before and then pipe onto them after they are unmolded. I do mine all in one day because I don’t want to clean two days in a row!
  • If you’ve never piped petals before, watch this petal piping tutorial (try saying that three times).

FLOWER CUPCAKE DIRECTIONS

1. Set cupcake molds on the cookie sheet.
2. Make the soap as you normally would. When soap is at a medium trace, measure out two equal parts and pour into two containers. Only one portion will be colored.

The green is the base (stem) and the white is the top (flower).

The green is the base (stem) and the white is the top (flower).

3. I mixed about 1/16th of chromium green oxide with a teaspoon of water, then added it to one portion and blended well. This will be the “stem” of the flower.
4. Pour the green soap into the cupcake molds. Bang the tray on the counter to release any air pockets.

Wilton cupcake silicone molds can be found at craft stores.

Silicone cupcake molds can be found at craft stores and come in many different shapes.

5. Prepare the piping bag by cutting off one corner and placing the petal tip through it. Make sure it’s a tight fit and set aside.
6. The uncolored soap remaining will be used to pipe petals on to the cupcake. Before you can fill the piping bag it will need to be the consistency of thick frosting. It took 15 minutes for this to happen, and it will be different for everyone based on many factors (soaping temp, fragrance, recipe, etc.).

The soap should be the consistency of cake frosting when you pipe.

The soap should be the consistency of cake frosting when you pipe.

7. When the soap is the right consistency, fill the piping bag and start piping petals onto each cupcake.
8. After I completed the petals, I used leftover soap embeds for the middle of the flower. I cut them up until they were small enough and gently pressed them into the center.  This is optional but it will help it look more like a flower.
9. Lastly, sprinkle glitter over the cupcakes and unmold in 24 – 48 hours. Let cure for 4 – 6 weeks before using.

 

Flower Cupcake Soap! Patience + experience from past mistakes + tutorials = Improvement

Not bad, not bad at all! My initial reaction to the finished soap: B-. I have improved from my previous “piping” attempts but the petals don’t look exactly as they should. I’m happy that it does sort of resemble a flower, and with some more practice I know I can get this technique down.

Have you ever piped a design onto soap? Maybe your attempt will be better than mine so give it a try!

 

 

 

