Are you tired of lining soap molds?

When I first started making soap I used shoe boxes and cardboard boxes as molds, but eventually graduated to using wooden soap molds. I love wooden soap molds but I got tired of lining them – measure, fold, cut, tape, repeat! I had reached the end of the “line” with lining soap molds. So recently I invested in two Crafter’s Choice silicone loaf molds from Wholesale Supplies Plus. I have been using these molds for the past few weeks and here’s my overall impression:

Pros

It’s a good deal for $14.95. It’s very durable and produces smooth, clean edges on soap. It’s clear so you get an idea of what the swirls will look like and it makes it easier to layer evenly. The  mold will hold 40 – 44  ounces of soup so it’s great for making small batches.

Crafter's Choice Loaf - Regular Silicone Mold 1501 from Wholesale Supplies Plus

Crafter’s Choice Loaf – Regular Silicone Mold 1501 from Wholesale Supplies Plus

Cons

It temporarily holds fragrance scents but does not transfer it to the next soap batch (scent eventually fades). It is not recommended to use in the oven so it’s not ideal for cold process oven process. It’s also not recommended to stick in the freezer to help with loosening stubborn soap as this may cause the sides to become brittle and tear.

Bottom Line

If you want a strong silicone mold that will give your soap clean smooth sides – Crafter’s Choice loaf mold is the way to go. Although silicone molds do not require lining some soaps can still be difficult to unmold. A little bit of sodium lactate added to your soap recipe can help with this.

One drawback of using a silicone mold instead of a wooden mold is that you don’t have the insulation that causes the soap to go through the gel phase.  To achieve this I wrap a towel around the base and place it inside of a box. It’s a small compromise, but I don’t mind because it’s better than having to line a mold!

